top of page

Working from home - is it ideal?

For the past month my partner has been working from home, and will be doing for the foreseeable. Every parent dreams of working from home, free childcare, less expenses for travel and lunches etc. but is it ideal?

Recently, both my partner and myself have had opportunities to take up our work from home. It seemed ideal, avoiding the £1000/month nursery fees and still being able to live a happy, financially comfortable life.

We didn't really think about the opportunity - just went straight for it! Picked up a desk, rearranged our home. Set up desktops, laptops, stored masses of paperwork and equipment and chucked ourselves in at the deep end.

It started off brilliant, we were organised, we could do things in our own way. Childcare was not an issue, we moved highchairs and bouncers into the what is now an office and everything went smoothly.

Next thing we know its 8pm, we've been up working since 8am and there is suddenly no separation between home and work. Our little girl shouts to remind us that she needs attention too (little attention seeker).

I must admit, I love being able to have my little girl sat on my knee, working away, it makes your day fly! But like I said, there is no separation!

I got talking to some other bloggers/working from home mums to see what they said;

Family, Parenting & Lifestyle Blog

bottom of page